The Beauty of Over-Analyzing


Men, let me tell you something about women: we will quite literally think ourselves to death.

“The calories I just burned, are they carbs or protein? Oh wait….maybe it’s fat? How do I know which one I’m burning? How long do I have to work out to make sure I’m burning something? How long do I have to work out before my stomach slims down? Will I fit that dress? Is peach even my color? Ugh, I knew I shouldn’t have bought it…did I spend too much money on this?”

That was annoying to read, yeah? Well, it was annoying to type. The issue here, is that we actually think this way. What a nightmare.

Now before I get ahead of myself, sometimes over-analyzing has its benefits. If I check five times to make sure I have my house keys before I leave the house then quite frankly, I have some pretty intense tabs on my keys. Women in this sense are very efficient.

We are also very discerning for this reason. We’ll see right through bs. If you say you’re out with your friend and there’s even an ounce of suspicion, we’ll find out what’s really going on, trust me on this. We’ll think so into it that neither you nor the friend you’re with will know we checked you both out. It’s great.

However.

The blessing of over-analyzing can also be an ugly curse. I can’t count how many times I had given myself a headache trying to figure out the opposite sex (this is my second post about guys in less than 24 hours; is this gonna turn out to be a relationship blog?). If we have a literally fabulous date and I get good vibes from you, how on earth do you stop texting all of a sudden?

I can see your answer now: “Well why don’t you ask?”

Um, hello, no girl wants to be considered “needy.” Now wait, I totally believe in asking questions. Do not get me wrong. But if I’m a talkative gal and I’ve been through the whole texting phase and I’ve already texted him once or twice with no response, confrontation equals needy at that point (to most guys).

So ladies, what do you do?

You wait.

Live life.

Date around, even (these are pre-relationship problems, okay?).

And you know what? If he doesn’t text back, then you know that he was a waste of your time anyway. His loss. If he does end up missing you and calls you back, then you’re pleasantly surprised. We in turn have a win-win situation.

But what don’t you do? Lay in bed at night trying to figure out at what point things went sour. Believe it or not, chances are that they never did go sour. And if you don’t ask, you won’t know anyway…until he calls you back. If he calls you back.  Either way, you won’t mind if you’re not over-analyzing.

Of course, this is just my personal opinion. Agree or disagree?

~ by musingsofaboredteenager on July 6, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
