Chivalry, And Why You Should Expect It


Maybe I’m not like most females.

I am one of those girls who are totally down with being treated like a princess. Now I’m not talking about finding a guy that waits on your hand and foot like a butler; that’s not really fair. However, if your guy isn’t being courteous and gentlemanly at the very least, I find that to be a bit of a letdown. Chivalry is the very first thing on my list of things I expect in a guy.

Now before any males reading my blog tie their boxers into a knot, let me kinda give you an idea of what I’m talking about. If we go out on a date, I’m not gonna stand at the passenger’s side like an idiot waiting for you to open my door. I can totally do that; it’s not that serious, really (though if you do open the door for me, you’re getting major brownie points).

However, I’m fully expecting you to open the door to any building when we go somewhere, and I’m definitely expecting you to pay the check in full on the first date, and possibly the second one, too (but I always carry an emergency $20 on the first date; he may think otherwise and I’ll get some of the bill, but he’s not getting a second date). But don’t worry, I will touch on the “check” issue in a later post just for you, guys. You may be pleasantly surprised with what I have to say.

Ladies, this should be pretty much expected with any guy that you end up encountering. It’s not really about him “owing” you something, but if a guy is really interested, he should be focused on making sure that he’s treating you with the utmost respect (without it getting creepy, of course). He should treat you like a lady, because that’s what you are.

My belief is that this is just common courtesy. I mean, is it really that difficult to open the door for a girl? Or pull out her chair? Chivalry is indeed not dead, and guys, I almost guarantee you that if all else fails on the first date…if you are gentlemanly at the very least, you pretty much secure yourself a second date (that is, if the girl you are dating isn’t shallow or stupid).

So is chivalry an important thing for you, or is it dead? Do you think it’s necessary?

~ by musingsofaboredteenager on July 7, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
