The Infamous Check Protocol


Okay, okay. I understand that this can be a touchy subject. However, I feel like my thoughts are pretty valid for both parties.

I noted in my post about chilvary that on the first and second dates, the guy should pay. With the first date, there are no arguments. No exceptions. That’s just the way it is. My personal  “thing” is that if a guy takes me out on a date for the first time, and he thinks that I should pay at least some of the bill, he’s not getting a second date. Period.

Now here’s a rule of thumb for the ladies: always bring an emergency $20 in case that’s the guy you’re dealing with. Just don’t give him the benefit of a second try.

The second date…can be tricky. Usually, I’m expecting for the guy to pay. If he’s not paying the check in full, he’d better be a hell of a gentleman.

Third date, whoever asks for the date should expect to pay some of the bill, at the very least. Ladies, as much as we’d like to think otherwise, we’re not dating millionaires (well if you actually are dating one, good for you).

From then on, the couple should either split the bill, or whoever asks should pay in full. I find that this approach is sensible, and no one’s being…overextended when it comes to funds. Unfortunately, while a lot of guys are good ones, they can’t provide everything.

I will say this, though: ladies, if your guy is paying for everything with no issue, then by all means enjoy the high life. But in my case I’d eventually feel bad and pay for the occasional coffee date. :p

Fair is fair is fair. It’s a pretty standard check protocol in my opinion. Do you have a check protocol? If the guy doesn’t pay is it a deal breaker?

~ by musingsofaboredteenager on July 8, 2012.

2 Responses to “The Infamous Check Protocol”

  1. I completely agree with your check protocol. I don’t go out on dates though, so I wouldn’t have the opportunity to follow it.

    • I think that it’s definitely the way to go. So in this case you keep the guy in control without him losing an arm and a leg in the process.
      And I haven’t been on too many dates recently myself, lol…thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

 
