The Issue With Texting


I have a huge issue with texting, not only in relationships but in general. For a few reasons.

Texting has grown to become arguably the largest form of communication out there. My mom even asks me why I can’t call someone instead of texting and I honestly just don’t have a answer for her. It’s convenient? It’s easy? I can do it without worrying about annoying someone?

I personally appreciate texting if I just want to keep tabs on people I don’t talk to often. I can ask them how they’re doing, catch up a little bit, and then I’ll feel like I’ve done my job. It’s simple. And I don’t have to worry about interrupting their day because…hey, they don’t have to text me back immediately. They can just text (or call, even) when things settle down.

However.

When it comes to people that you’re close to, things (at least in my case) kinda…suck, for a lack of better words. Texting is so impersonal on so many levels, especially when you’re just meeting someone. And I’m not just talking about in the dating scene, either.

I constantly find myself over-explaining myself when I’m texting someone I’m just meeting. One thing that I absolutely hate but can’t seem to get around whilst texting is miscommunication (not sure if this is a word, oh well). It seems like when I’m texting someone things can get incredibly twisted, and in my case it seems to always happen to the people I care about most. So I try my hardest to avoid it.

The problem is, however, that over-explaining things can be overwhelming to the recipient. So instead of pushing them away with explaining you stay brief.

But that’s boring.

So how in the world are you supposed to get to know someone and build a relationship with them if you’re texting?

Answer: Stop texting it out.

Honestly, I hate the idea of texting almost as much as I hate Facebook. Bringing it around to dating/relationships (since that’s what that blog seems to be about), texting should be kept to a minimum, and if anything, it should be a last resort in communication. It’s impersonal, it’s time-consuming (if one or both parties are texting all day, everyday), and you risk miscommunicating.

Now in the early stages of dating, miscommunication isn’t too big of a deal. But once you cross that line and you’re officially exclusive, it can become a huge issue really quickly, especially if things get…shaky. And texting is the culprit most of the time. How can you miscommunicate if you’re talking face-to-face? Or on the phone? When you text, you lose those essential verbal and physical cues.

Plus, in my experience, guys don’t really dig texting as much as girls anyway. So when done in excess, texting can be a potential turn-off.

So my advice for the day: let’s talk it out. Literally.

Do you prefer texting or talking? Can texting be a nuisance, or do you think it’s a more effective way of communicating?

~ by musingsofaboredteenager on July 9, 2012.

2 Responses to “The Issue With Texting”

  1. Totally agree with you. It’s often really difficult to judge the tone of texts so it’s easy to give people the wrong impression. If I want to talk, I tend to get fed up with texting and call people instead 😛

    • That’s my point exactly. And I’ll get so caught up in the “convenience” of it that I’ll leave myself guessing and ultimately it takes away the little convenience that was there in the first place.

Leave a Reply

 
