A Regret


I am one of those people who takes things as they come, and I also tend to make decisions based entirely on instinct. I have the mindset to not regret any decision I’ve made, because I believe that everything happens for a reason, whether it’s a conscious decision or not.

However, there is one…

I spent six wonderful years of my life in the beautiful country of Italy. I had moved there when I had just turned twelve. I will admit that at first I hated it. I hated my parents for making the decision to go, and I hated this foreign country that I knew nothing about for being so far away from my friends and normalcy. I didn’t understand that so many people would kill for this opportunity.

I didn’t care though, and spent my first couple of years young and bitter. However, things changed, and I grew up some, and I made friends. I realized that perhaps this wasn’t too bad at all. Once I went into high school, I was used to the idea, and I considered this place home. The longest I had ever lived in a place was 3-4 years, so when my family ended up staying longer, I bit of an attachment to this place. I had learned the language, and I knew the people and the culture. However, I had never been more than an hour from home.

All of that changed when I started playing sports in school. Since there were no American schools nearby, we had to travel to get to other places. I had lived on the island of Sicily, and we had to ride the ferry to the mainland and travel for hours to get to places like Rome and Naples and Milan, and even fly up to Germany. These road trips were quite literally the best experiences of my life, and I thought that I wouldn’t trade them for anything. I truly got to experience a bit of the beauty that Europe had to offer during those years.

But I did just that. In the summer of 2010, we went to the States so we could visit family and I could go to a medical forum that I was invited to in Atlanta. While there, I had made new friends and learned so many new things in the little time I was there. I didn’t realize how sheltered I really was. The States, the place were I was from, was actually foreign to me. And I loved that. I wanted to learn and know more. So while my parents were actually thinking about moving back  to the States after I graduated, I urged them to move back literally as soon as possible.

As soon as possible became the morning of October 4th, 2010. We got up at 4 o’clock in the morning and we were in the air by 6. That was the last time I saw the Mediterranean Sea. The last time I saw beautiful Mt. Etna, the same volcano that I saw everyday for 5 years. The last time I ate a cornetti ricetta or had a mochaccino. I didn’t realize how homesick I would get, or how upset I would be 2 years down the road because of my decision. I didn’t get to go to prom or graduate with the friends that I grew up with. I didn’t get to take the Senior trip to Taormina or snowboard on Mt. Etna like I planned to. It sucks.

I regret that decision to this very day. But I plan to remedy the issue by one day going back. Hopefully by teaching there, at the school that I grew up in. I believe that I owe it to myself. Because to me, Italy is truly home. I learned to cherish every single opportunity that comes my way from now on, no matter how big or small. You never know how much you’ll truly appreciate it later on.

~ by musingsofaboredteenager on July 13, 2012.

3 Responses to “A Regret”

  1. Very well written – and interesting topic! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    And the reminder at the end too, always important…

Leave a Reply

 
