The Year of Thankful Living: Day 4


Today, I’m thankful for my grandmother. Most people who know me well would wonder why she wasn’t first, haha. My grandmother is my very best friend, and I literally love her to death. We celebrated her 80th birthday this year, which was absolutely amazing. She was ecstatic, and so was I. When I’m at school, we talk literally everyday. If she doesn’t call me, she would definitely expect for me to call her. We’re so close that sometimes I call her Mom, too.

The one thing that I respect about my grandmother is that she takes people and accepts them as they are. Because of her, I feel confident in my own skin. Whenever she’s sick or not feeling well, she can count on me to be there, and if I need help, she’s here for me, too.

The one material thing that I have of hers is a ring that she gave me that was given to her on her wedding day. And since the significance of the ring finger refers to the belief that that finger has the only vein that goes directly to the heart, I wear it on that finger, until the right guy comes along. Until then, she is my heart.

Up until a few years ago, I didn’t have the closest relationship to her, because my family always lived so far away. But she has visited us everywhere we’ve been (we call her “Traveling Stella”), and never failed to show us her love. Now that we live literally 5 minutes away from each other, we’re closer than ever, and absolutely nothing will tear us apart. I love you, Mom. 🙂

~ by musingsofaboredteenager on July 13, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
