Review: Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte


Okay, I told you all that this was coming so here it is. Wuthering Heights is my absolute favorite book so here we go.

Type: Novel

Genre: Gothic Fiction, Romance

Length: In my book, it’s about 380 pages. I’d guess it’d range from 350-450 pages depending on the layout. Chapters range from 8 to 20 pages.

Setting: Yorkshire, Northern England. The two major sites are Wuthering Heights and Thrushcross Grange. Time setting is the late 1700s to early 1800s.

General Plot: Rejected orphan boy falls in love with girl; girl marries off to wealthier family, so orphan boy (now older) marries wealthy sister to get revenge. This and other demented forms of revenge lasts literally to the last chapters of the novel.

What I Love About the Book: I absolutely love the darkness of the novel. When you read it the first time, you’d be absolutely shocked by some of the things that take place for the sake of love and revenge. I also love how the author refuses to sugarcoat things; this is not by any means your typical love story. It’s not mushy and it’s not for those who are looking for an ending without a dark undertone. The best part of this novel is the insane psychological journey that the protagonist takes throughout the novel. It’s absolutely beautiful in it’s passion and dark atmosphere. “Dark” is definitely the word to describe this novel.

What I Dislike About the Book: Because it was written during Victorian  England, it definitely has it’s share of vocabulary that’ll make you run to the dictionary (if context clues aren’t enough). When I read it for the first time, I bought a mini-dictionary as well to help with the more difficult words, haha. Also, there’s a few characers with the same name or who are called by the same name, and if you aren’t paying attention, you may have to go back to figure out which character the narrator (or other character) is referring to. However, this coincidence adds to the irony of the novel, so it is indeed beautiful anyway.

How Do I Know I’ll Like the Book? If you like The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, Northanger Abbey, The Bride of Lammermoor, Great Expectations, or Mansfield Park, these are for you. However, I would suggest it even if you don’t like these because I believe that Emily Bronte is more intriguing than most authors.

Overall Rating: 10/10. The word issue can get annoying but it helps vocabulary so for that reason alone, I can overlook it.

~ by musingsofaboredteenager on July 14, 2012.

2 Responses to “Review: Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte”

  1. I’m looking to fill out my reading list – had never thought about Wuthering Heights but your review makes me want to take a look.

    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

 
