The Importance of Being Modest


Did you get the reference here? I was very excited to use it; I’m the hugest English geek. For those who didn’t catch it right away, I was referring to The Importance of Being Earnest.

Anywho, today I’m talking about the importance of modesty. Now let’s define the word really quick.

modest: not boastful; shy; not excessive; decent.

Most decent guys will appreciate a modest girl, whether they’d like to admit it or not. They find it attractive when a girl thinks about people more than herself. She can single-handedly destroy the relationship if she’s only into pleasing herself.

Why would anyone want to sit and and listen to someone talk about themselves and go on and on and on about their lives? Ask questions. Take a breather and try to figure out what the other person wants, or what their likes and dislikes are. You may be surprised with what happens when you tone down the autobiography mode.

And let’s be real here, most women dig a guy that can put his wants and needs aside every once in a while to please a girl and make her happy. But this is by no means a one way street. Guys need attention and love, too. They’ll definitely appreciate it when a girl will put him before herself every once in awhile.

Has the autobiography mode affected your dating life?

~ by musingsofaboredteenager on July 17, 2012.

6 Responses to “The Importance of Being Modest”

  1. Plus, who doesn’t love an Oscar Wilde reference?

  2. Wow I have never thought of the “autobiography mode” in a relationship. Now that you mention it I think that’s why my relationship have never worked out. When I would get bored or tired or annoyed “I” didn’t want the relationship anymore. It was always what “I” wanted and what “I” was feeling. I guess I have been sort of selfish.

    • Yes, exactly. And when I look back at the guy I was talking to last, I realized that while he knows a ton of things about me, I hardly know a thing about him. I swear I wish I could go back and do things differently because almost every time we talked it was pretty much a one way conversation: he’d ask me questions, and I’d answer them…and we’d go back and forth that way. Obviously it’s innocent; in the heat of the moment you don’t realize what you’re doing, but in the long run it messes things up and could ultimately end something that would’ve been great otherwise.

Leave a Reply

 
