I’m So Tired! The Year of Thankful Living: Days 11/12


After I make this post I’m going to bed. :p

I had to wake up at 4:45 yesterday morning to drive 3 hours out for my dad’s graduation from Police Academy. It was a long, long drive, especially considering I didn’t sleep well at all the night before; I probably got 2 hours of shut eye total.

Anywho, to say that my dad was excited is an understatement. He was exhausted, of course. He had driven from the academy to us, and then drove us all the way back there for the ceremony. His eyes were bloodshot, and his body wa sore from all the training that had taken place over the past 12 weeks, but there was no way you could miss the glow that came from his face. It was a big day for him.

Though he tried his best to look serious and tough throughout the ceremony, there was no way he could actually keep a straight face the entire time…especially with us literally 5 feet away giggling behind him. The ceremony was nice, and the exhaustion didn’t even matter because this is what he worked for for the past year.

One of the proudest moments of the entire day was seeing him get his training diploma. It was definitely a highlight. After that, we drove all the way back home, stopping at Popeye’s to get a celebratory meal (because it’s his favorite), and we went to the courthouse so he could get sworn in with the people he works with.

The courthouse had a ton of people, more than what I expected, but all in all it was a nice environment, nicer than the graduation, in my opinion. That ceremony started off with a few words from their chief, and they took an oath, and then the badge ceremony. Dre was the one to put the badge on Dad, which was a nice moment, and from that moment, he officially became one of Myrtle Beach’s finest.

Saying that I’m proud isn’t even enough to describe my feelings when it comes to my dad. We’ve been through so much in the past 2 years, and there were some times when it seemed like he was the only one who had faith in himself and our situation. He pushed through whether things seemed sour or not, and it has officially paid off. This is my Days 11/12 of my Year of Thankful Living.

Congratulations, Dad.

~ by musingsofaboredteenager on July 21, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
