The Year of Thankful Living: Day 27


Today I’m thankful for kind gestures, both given and recieved.

Sometimes you’re just not in the mood to go the extra mile for a person, whether it’s because you’re tired, or upset, or just inattentive to someone’s need. What people fail to realize is that while most of the time the favor isn’t returned, when it finally does happen, it makes up for all of the times that your kindess was only one sided.

At work I do make sure that the people I encounter are satisfied. I’ve worked there for a little over a year. I rang up this couple and after everything was said and done the wife told me that she had a coupon in her email that she recently deleted. I knew which one she was referring to and told her that she should have told me and I would have given it to her.

It was a 20% off coupon and her total came out to like $200+ so she was bummed and asked if there was anyway I could just bring up her transaction and apply it. I said that the only way I could do that is make a return on all of her stuff and then ring it all up again, and she had like 25-30 items. I could tell she felt bad but I insisted that it was okay and that I would do it for her.

Anywho I made the return and rang it all up and gave her 25% off instead of 20%, just because she was nice and wasn’t demanding about it. She got about $40 back.

I wasn’t expecting anything at all in return from them (the guy even asked if I wanted a soda or something, and I was like bleh it’s fine), but I later found out that they went and put in a good word with my manager. I do things like that all the time, but this was the first time I’ve gotten anything in return.

It was just nice, and it made my day. So I’m just thankful for kindness going all around.

EDIT: And I understand I just posted like, 20 of these. I was posting from my phone and it totally shanghaied me. My apologies! On the other hand, I am indeed thankful that I now have the ability to post from my personal phone. 😛

~ by musingsofaboredteenager on August 5, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
