The Year of Thankful Living: Days 24, 25, & 26


I didn’t die!

I bet you guys are just like, “What the heck happened to this girl; she posted like every day.” But seriously, I was gone with good reason! I have lots of things to talk about and lots of things to address about the happenings of the past three days.

I didn’t really mention this, but I did hint at it earlier this week: Thursday marked the first day of our annual “Holy Convocation” at church. Please don’t ask me what convocation means, because quite  honestly I wouldn’t be able to answer that for a million dollars.

Anywho, the main church that we were hosting was the church that we have been under for the past seven years, though we haven’t physically attended because we moved away about five or six years ago. Though many people have come and gone, there are still some there that I remember from when I was younger. So the first thing I’m thankful for is being able to rekindle and strengthen old friendships.

One girl in particular attended the Convocation that I forgot entirely about over the years, and we were able to reconnect and we even exchanged numbers and agreed to meet up again (the church traveled all the way from Virginia Beach!). It was totally awesome to be able to do that, and it excited me.

I also got to reconnect with my mom’s friend and her daughter the I mentioned previously (though in which post I don’t recall), and that was lovely…I will say though the the child has not changed; four years later she still talks constantly about things she knows nothing at all about! Nonetheless we had fun and we had our fair share of laughing and trips to Waffle House. 😀

The last people I’ll mention in this category were a true breath of fresh air for me. They are a father and son (the overseer of the ministry and his son), but I never really had a true relationship with them because the mother/wife had such a strong personality that she completely overshadowed them, and they might as well had been invisible. She had passed away in February, however (God rest her soul), so I had gotten to see another side of both of them that I don’t believe I would’ve seen if circumstances were different. Because of this, I’m happy that I was able to build a relationship with them.

Secondly, I’m thankful for new friendships and relationships. During this Convocation we had to do small sessions, and I had to prepare a session for the youth that were there. It went extremely well, and out of that group there were a few that I was able to connect with on a deeper level than the others.We spent most of the day together yesterday and quite honestly it was probably the most fun I’ve had all summer.

The last thing that I’ll mention that I’m thankful for is the chance to go to the beach. It was my first time going to the beach all summer and I had so much fun with my new friends; the only bad part is that I have to do something with my hair now because it’s definitely not at it’s best. I feel like I’ve had a mini vacation (which is sad because technically I’ve been on vacation for nearly three and a half months).

Anywho, as much as I’d wish I took more pictures, I didn’t. Whatever the case, I have these awesome, wonderful memories now and new friendships so I am more than satisfied with the way that things turned out. And this isn’t even including the spiritual lessons that I’ve gotten in the past 72 hours. I just feel renewed and rejuvenated.

And though I had a blast the past couple of days, I’m exhausted beyond belief (I haven’t slept more than four or five hours at a time since Wednesday night) and now that I’m home from work and settled, I’m going to bed and I’ll leave the unpacking for tomorrow.

~ by musingsofaboredteenager on August 5, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
