The Year of Thankful Living: Day 32


Today I’m just thankful for revisiting spirituality.  For a good year I’ve just been skeptical and I’ve had doubts about my faith and I believe that for a while I could even be considered atheist.

I’m an extremely curious person, and I just had so many questions that went unanswered for so long. And I figured that if a religion didn’t have answers to them that they weren’t worth exploring any further. Christianity was one of them.

However, over the summer I reached a bit of an epitome. Firstly, religion is called a “faith” for a reason. You’re not supposed to have all of the answers. The point is believe in something greater than yourself, even with the possibility that everything that you’ve learned and believed and trusted in is false. It can’t be a “faith” if you know the answers. There is no proof.

And maybe this comes across as simple or obvious to some people, but to people like me (who need to have an answer to everything and that needs to understand everything), this is monumental. I just need to trust in the fact that I’m doing the right thing.

Saying all of this, I’ve found recently that I’m just being constantly reminded of God’s love, and that everything is going to be okay, because everything happens in His timing, and not mine. I just feel that every day I’m being reassured, and I’m incredibly grateful for this because without it I would be going mad with everything that needs to be taken care of in the next week.

~ by musingsofaboredteenager on August 11, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
