We’re on Facebook, People!


I’ve already noted that Facebook tends to irk me, both because of the site itself and what it does to people and the imbeciles that fall prey to it. There are a few things in particular that really get me going, and I’d just like to touch on a few of them.

1. Hashtags.

Hastags are used on Twitter for people to click on and see tweets where people are discussing the same topic. It’s a link. It has a purpose. On Facebook, it’s just a word (or string of words). With a symbol in front of it. There’s no hyperlink here or anything. Can we please just not use hashtags on Facebook please? We know what you’re talking about; you can write the same thing in proper grammar without the hastag, thank you.

2. Tweets. Or what I’d like to call, misappropriation of content.

Okay, let’s understand that the difference between Facebook and Twitter is that Twitter is a microblogging website while Facebook is a way to connect with your friends and family. In other words, Facebook is by no means a blogging website. This is not the purpose. So when I see Facebook statuses like,

“Going to the mall!”

“I’m home now, I’m gonna go make a PB&J #munchin”

“That sandwich was fabulous!”

“mane imma go mke me nother sndwch”

“Dude just ran across the street naked #smh #ratchet #wtf #youneedtostop”

“That just reminded me that I need to go underwear shopping!”

…and this is all from the same person within an hour’s time…that’s a problem. Let’s move it to Twitter. And if you just happen to be one of the ignorant few that sync your Facebook and Twitter, then please take the advice of YouTube personality Kingsley:

“Un-sync it.”

3. Legit Blogging.

I have a friend on Facebook, and while in person I suppose she is a sweetheart, on Facebook she is a complete nightmare. I swear that she writes multiple paragraph-long statuses back to back (I’m not talking about two or three; I mean six or seven), and she just floods my newsfeed with things I quite frankly do not care about. This is not okay. Can you please just get a blogging site? She also does her FB friends the misfortune of not using proper grammar. This leads me to my next problem…

4. English Failure.

If your Facebook status is something like

“idk y yuh mke it so hrd 2 reed thngs lk rly?”

on a daily basis then quite honestly you are being considered ignorant by yours truly. It’s not difficult to spell words out. The lady mentioned above uses this form of English for her paragraph-long musings; I don’t know why I haven’t deleted her yet (oh that’s right, she gives me $500 every year for school, gotcha).

5. “Liking” your own status.

Listen. We know you like your status. You posted it.

Any Facebook-isms that just irk you?

~ by musingsofaboredteenager on August 16, 2012.

6 Responses to “We’re on Facebook, People!”

  1. I am surprised you didn’t click to like your own blog post #sarcasm

  2. My number 2 hate with facebook is a b*tch fest of 50 comments all with foul mouthed, ill educated people. 🙂 My number 1 is your number 5! 🙂

  3. I hate number 5!

Leave a Reply

 
