Top Five Places I Want To Visit In My Lifetime


I’ve never done a post like this, but last night I was thinking about places that I’d really like to go, and places that I’d really like to see; then when I was on Pinterest I saw an infograph of places wirth visiting, but would be gone in a matter of years. Basically, I decided to put the ultimate list of the top five places I absolutely have to see in my lifetime.

So here we go.

1. The Eiffel Tower

The Eiffel Tower was erected in 1889 by Gustave Eiffel. It’s not only the cultural icon of France, but also one of the most recognizable structures in the world. It is the tallest structure in Paris, standing at 1.050 feet.

I personally believe that my life wouldn’t be complete without a visit to the Eiffel Tower. It’s a beautiful work of architecture that definitely can’t be missed, especially if you’re visiting te country of France. I believe it also has two restaurants (one on each platform), and I plan on sitting in one of them one day…because I love food just as much as I love pretty things to look at.

2. The Statue of Liberty

The Statue of Liberty is a sculpture designed by Frédéric Bartholdi as a gift to the U.S. from France, dedicated on October 28, 1886. Standing at 305 feet from base to torch, it is an icon of freedom that has been weloming immigrants from abroad for many, many years.

If I were President, I would make sure that every single American gets a ticket to go to New York and visit the Statue of Liberty (what a waste of funds, right?). Like the Eiffel Tower is to France, Lady Liberty has become a national symbol that represents our country and one of the most important things we were founded on: freedom.

3. The Pyramids at Giza

The Pyramids at Giza (also known as the Giza Necropolis) is an archeaological site on the Giza Plateau, right outside of Cairo, Egypt. It is the oldest ancient Wonder of the World and the only original one still in existance. It includes the three great pyramids, the Great Sphinx, and several cemeteries.

Ah, the pyramids. I’ve wanted to see them since I was younger, way before my obssession with Europe and before I even considered it a possible idea. I’ve just alway wanted to see them, along with the Valley of the Kings. Ancient Egyptian cutlure has always fascinated me and kept me wondering (so when I saw The Mummy for the first time you’d better believe I was hooked). I’ve actually had friends that have gone here and I’m extremely jealous of them.

4. The Great Barrier Reef

The Great Barrier Reef is the world’s largest coral reef system. It iscomposed of over 2,900 individual reefs and 900 islands stretching for over 1,600 miles. It can be seen from outer space and and is the world’s biggest single structure made by living organisms. It was selected by a World Heritage Site in 1981. However, because of coral bleaching, the Reef isn’t expected to last more than another 100 years.

This place is so amazing. I absolutely am petrified of water and I cannot swim to save my life, however, I would try to put my fears aside to experience this natural wonder. It’s so beautiful, and it’s definitely not something that I plan on missing out on.

5. Jerusalem

Jerusalem is the capital of Israel, and one of the oldest cities in the world.During its long history, Jerusalem has been destroyed twice, besieged 23 times, attacked 52 times, and captured and recaptured 44 times. In Christian tradition, Jerusalem has been a holy city since, according to the New Testament, Jesus was crucified there, possibly in c. 33 CE.

It has been on my mind to visit this place for a few years now. As a Christian, it would be amazing to go and see how such a large and widespread religion started (because I’m a History buff, once again). To see the temples and all of the different historical sites would be a fantastic spiritual journey that I look forward to taking one day.

So these places are the places that I absolutely must see before my life ends. I suppose I have a bit of a to-do list, huh? What are some places that you’re just dying to see?

*Oh, and by the way, those little fast facts about each place were taken from Wikipedia. No plagiarism on this blog!

~ by musingsofaboredteenager on August 30, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
