So, There’s This Guy…


Here we go again, right?

I know, I know. Let’s just have a brief update with everything else so you all can see where I’m at. Mr. Socially Inexperienced, like I’ve said before, is history. I’m over it. The A**hole is pretty much the same, and like I said before, he only gives me the time of day when it’s convenient for him. So when he messaged me on Skype for the first time in literally weeks the other night I pretty much wrote him off (speaking of which, how do you delete Skype contacts on a Mac?). He’s not worth my time, at all.

So now we’re on to this guy. I actually met him at a club party one night. I danced with him, and I instantly knew he was a keeper when he said “I’m gonna have to annoy you” in this deep, amazing voice, oh my actual God. I don’t know how many of you (if any of you) live in North/South Carolina, but if so, you know that people from Charleston have an incredibly sexy accent. They really do. This guy is from Charleston.

Now before I get too ahead of myself, let me continue with the story. I was tipsy, among other things, so he asked me for my number and I naturally gave it to him and we went our separate ways. I really enjoyed that night, actually, and when we left, one of my guy friends (<- this guy I will have to talk about later, too, I’m guessing within the next week and a half, the way things are going) was hungry, so we went to Hardee’s (Carl’s Jr. for you west coasters) and while in that line, this guy called me and wanted to meet up back on campus for a minute. I agreed, but because we were in the Hardee’s drive thru for literally twenty minutes (my guy friend wanted to wait until breakfast hours started), we weren’t able to meet.

The next morning, I had classes. In the middle of my English class, my phone rang and it was him. I definitely left class so that I could talk to him. He told me that he wanted to get to know me, and proceed to tell me about himself. He’s 22, he goes to Coastal (the school is about 20 minutes from my house, and an hour drive from my campus) and is a business major, he has no kids, his younger brother goes to my school (cause I was wondering why he was at a party a good hour away, but he’s also a party promoter), he works, and a few other little things.

Also he has a fantastic voice…did I mention that? I told him that I was actually supposed to be in class, and he insisted that I go back and call back when everything was said and done, because he was on campus with his brother. After class I had called him and met him, and I ran into the only thing wrong with him out of everything right:

This guy is not attractive.

Okay, okay. I totally understand that looks are not everything. But I mean…you have to be at physically attracted to someone at least a little in order to really have something special, right? I mean, when I met him at the club not only was I under the influence, it was also pretty dark, so I mean it could have been anyone. I’m just saying that physically, there is seriously nothing there.

However, when I talk to him on the phone…it’s entirely different. He is such a sweetheart, and his personality is golden. Honestly. From what I’ve seen so far, he is probably everything that I would want in a guy. On the “How Much I Like A Guy” Meter, if it’s solely based on personality, this guy is like, somewhere between a 3 and 4. But his looks are a serious blow, you have no idea.

So where am I going with this? Um, well…I’m fighting with myself. I feel like if I talk to him and get to know him enough that the feelings will just come and it won’t matter. But a part of me wants physical attractiveness to be a part of any relationship that I have (and I’m sure that this has a lot to do with the high expectations I set for myself anyway). I just have a part of me that feels like, this guy could be a really, really, really great guy friend.

He could be my Vinny.

But his personality is so…beautiful. He’s a beautiful person. I don’t know if I want to sacrifice this amazing personality for the sake of a face. I think honestly that it may just be a little too early to tell. I mean, I saw him the night I met him and then I saw him again briefly the next morning. Maybe I have to take another look at him.

Also, I forgot the small detail that he seems to be into me, too. So I need to decide what I want to do and where I want to go before I get in too deep. Sigh.

Am I being shallow?

Really?

Like, is it really so wrong to want to be with a guy that I’m physically attracted to? I really would like a second opinion.

~ by musingsofaboredteenager on October 12, 2012.

2 Responses to “So, There’s This Guy…”

  1. There are many aspects to a relationship, so I suppose you have to figure out which aspects are most important to you. Or in other words, what is a deal-breaker for you?

    Just posing some questions? 🙂

    Adieu, scribbler

    • Well physical attractiveness is almost equally important as personality. So I’m at a crossroads because one end is clearly lacking and the other end is just amazing. So at this point I don’t know if I’d rather have him as a really great guy friend or something more…

Leave a Reply

 
