The Classic Roommate Complaint Post


I had super high expectations over the summer when I thought about my first semester experience in the apartments. Firstly, I was super excited because my friend had mirrors on her closet, so I automatically assumed that mine would be that way as well. I also automatically assumed that I would get along with my roommates and we would be super great friends. I also had Mr. Socially Inexperienced in there somewhere, but we all understand how that worked out.

The first thing that I noticed immediately was that I didn’t have a mirror on my closet.

Meh, oh well. I could live without it.

Then we approach the subject of my roommates. Can I just…let me just put a couple of general “rules” that I abide by as a roommate and what I expect out of those that I room with.

  1. I’m not trying to be “buddy-buddy” necessarily. I do, however, give common courtesy and respect to those that I’m living with and in turn expect the same.
  2. Times are hard. If anyone is like me, they do not by any means have a lot of money coming in and therefore find it sensible to cook for everyone when you cook. I think that if everyone cooks like once a week and just tries to help everyone else out, then you’ll end up saving money and reaping the benefits in the end.
  3. Along with this, I’m a firm believer that if you produce anything (other than a favorite food or something like that) in the house, you should at the very least offer some of what you have. Not everyone else will say yes every time.
  4. If I already know one of the people living with me, I’ll still make an effort to include everyone else. Not trying to be “buddy-buddy,” but let’s at least have some form of togetherness.

Does that sound sensible enough to you? Because I think so.

So, obviously, if I’m putting these four things up here that obviously means that I have some type of issue when it comes to my roommates and the above “rules.” So can we just address some of these issues?

  1. I swear I cannot get these girls to give me a decent “hello” when I walk in the room unless I do it first. I’m not asking you to kiss my pinky toe. I’m asking you to be a decent, courteous human being and address someone when I (or anyone I bring to my apartment) walk into the room. I do the same.
  2. The first week and a half of me being in the apartment, I was severely short on money. I seriously had maybe 2 pounds of hamburger meat, peanut butter and jelly, and bread. Also cheese and ham. I figured I could make burgers for all of us on some days, and other days they’d cook, and I’d have sandwiches every now and then, and whatever. While I made three meals for everyone that first and second week, the girl in the bedroom next to me made dinner for all of us once. The other times she made food for her, the girl in the third bedroom, and one of her other friends. I, on the other hand, went to my friend’s apartment for meals instead.
  3. Like I said above, I was offered food like, once. Me? I offered every time I made something because I just figure that that is what roommates do. Nothing more to really say on the subject.
  4. The girl in the bedroom next to me is good friends with the girl in the third bedroom and they just talk and eat and watch TV and do whatever to their little heart’s desires.

Am I bitter about these circumstances? I was. For the first three weeks or so, I just couldn’t figure out why these girls were such bitches. It really irked me. I just figure that since we all live together that we should just find ways to makes things easier on all of us. Then I realized…not everyone thinks the same way that I do. And while it does suck, I realized that I really don’t even care.

I have fantastic friends that live outside of my apartment that I can chill with and cook for and eat with and just…enjoy. I’m totally not gonna let these girls ruin my semester.

In the meantime, I really do dislike them.

Anyone else have less than decent roommates?

~ by musingsofaboredteenager on October 15, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
