A Walking Contradiction


We all have goals, right?

It’s good, healthy even, to have goals. I think that when you have goals, you learn things about yourself, whether you achieve them or not. Whether it’s to begin working out tomorrow, or to clean your attic next week, or be debt-free by next year, we all have things we want to accomplish.

In my case, I have goals, too. Like, finish school in the next couple or years, or get my license at some point (yes, I’m 19 and still with a permit; we’ll discuss why shortly). Better yet, I’d like to get a new computer in the next month.

These are great goals to have, and it’s nice. But I also tend to have a very intense imagination and with these come other goals, like taking up painting, and starting a garden, and going to TAO for the new year. The problem with me and these goals is that they are wants instead of necessities.

Why is this a problem, you ask?

I tend to have no motivation whatsoever. So with me, if something is not a necessity, even if I really want it, there is a very high chance that I won’t go for it. And if I do, I don’t finish. That’s pretty shameful, if you ask me. How can I have all of these dreams and goals if there’s no motivation behind it?

The thing is, motivation is the one thing that keeps us going. It keeps us mentally healthy, and it makes our lives interesting. Without any motivation, your life ends up being like a broken record in a sense. You’re a walking contradiction.

Now when I started writing this post, I didn’t have any plans on how to make the situation better. I just basically wanted to call myself out on my own sh*t and make myself feel bad about being a bum. But then I figured that I have to remedy this in some way. And I figured it out.

I’m going to make a bucket list.

And you’re probably like, “Oh, that’s so cliche.” But think about it. It’s kind of like your own personal “fun” to do list. You owe it to yourself to do anything and everything that you want to do. Why not check out that fancy schmancy Italian restaurant downtown that you always wanted to go to? Make a “Fancy Schmancy Money Jar” and save up until you have enough to go.

And then check it off of your bucket list.

Why?

Because you want to.

So that’s what I’m gonna do. From here on it’s about taking advantage of your life. Enjoy it.

Anything you’ve ever wanted to do but backed out of? Go and f**king do it.

~ by musingsofaboredteenager on July 25, 2012.

2 Responses to “A Walking Contradiction”

  1. a bucket list is a great idea. if we don’t have goals, we are already there!

Leave a comment